Frequently Asked Questions

Select one of the frequently asked questions below to learn more about renting and leasing real estate in Chittenden County.

Questions about Renting

Why am I having trouble finding an apartment?

Overall, the demand for rental housing in Chittenden County is strong, and apartment vacancies are low. The Allen & Brooks report, a semi-annual economic study, has tracked apartment vacancies and rents in Chittenden County since 1993 and states that the long term market vacancy rate in Chittenden County rests at 2 percent.  This is significantly lower than the national average which is closer to 4.5%.

What are my legal rights as a tenant?

Curious about your rights as a tenant? Champlain Valley Office of Economic Opportunity and VT Apartment Owners Association have created a comprehensive guide in The Definitive Guide to Renting in Vermont handbook.

Can you help me find a rental?

Absolutely!  Please email Info@NestVT.com to find out more about our Housing Search service.

What is Renter's insurance and do I really need it?

Renter’s Insurance covers your belongings from events listed in the policy, such as fire, smoke, water damage, windstorms, lightning, theft and vandalism. Renter’s insurance can also cover hotel costs after a disaster, dog bites, medical injuries to guests and more. Some policies can be added for as little as $5/month.

What is expected of me as a tenant?

Curious about your responsibilities as a tenant? Champlain Valley Office of Economic Opportunity and VT Apartment Owners Association have created a comprehensive guide in The Definitive Guide to Renting in Vermont handbook.

How long does the application process take?

We process applications as efficiently as we can. We typically try to have a response to you within 72 hours of submitting your completed application.

Can you help me find pet friendly housing?

Absolutely! Please call or email us at info@NestVT.com for our comprehensive list of pet-friendly units.

Questions about Leasing

How much can I ask for for a security deposit?

Burlington law limits the total amount of deposit a landlord can ask for to no more than one month’s rent, regardless of whether it is called a security deposit, a damage deposit or a pet deposit, last month’s rent, etc. The law allows a landlord to require an additional payment equal to one half the amount of one month’s rent for allowing a pet or pets. Law in the town of Barre, VT also limits the total amount of deposit a landlord can ask for to 1 one month’s rent.

What are my rights as a landlord?

Curious about your rights as a Landlord? Champlain Valley Office of Economic Opportunity and VT Apartment Owners Association have created a comprehensive guide in The Definitive Guide to Renting in Vermont handbook.

Latest Rentals

Bright Three Bedroom in South Burlington

  • $2,650/Per Month
  • Beds: 3
  • Baths: 1.5

Bright & Furnished 2 Bedroom near Oakledge

  • $2,800/Per Month
  • Beds: 2
  • Baths: 2
  • 1489 Sq Ft
  • Condo

Beautiful South End Three Bedroom

  • $3,500/Per Month
  • Beds: 3
  • Bath: 1
  • Single Family Home

Furnished and Bright 3 Bedroom in Shelburne

  • $2,500/Per month
  • Beds: 3
  • Baths: 1.5
  • 1370 Sq Ft

Beautiful Three Bedroom Home in Shelburne

  • $2,400/Per Month
  • Beds: 3
  • Baths: 4
  • 2390 Sq. Ft
  • Townhouse

Compare listings

Compare